Board of Directors


  • Strategic planning (3-5 year plans); defining organizational priorities, values, and goals.
  • External Issues:  discuss industry and association trends, threats, and opportunities.  Serve as a forum to identify, debate, and define direction, forward-thinking to ensure that organizational energy, resources, competencies, and creativity are utilized to HI’s maximum advantage.
  • Establishing policies and procedures for the proper operation of the Institute.
  • Executive Director selection, retention, and compensation.


  • Mission, Goals and Key Strategies of Hydraulic Institute
  • Constitution & Bylaws, Corporate Policies and Procedures for HI governance
  • Ensuring adequate financial, staff and volunteer resources to accomplish HI’s mission, goals & key strategies
  • Providing leadership support to key committees to accomplish annual HI goals

Board Members

Scott KingChairmanGorman-Rupp Co., Mansfield Division
John DonatielloPresidentHydro, Inc.
Kerby PopeTreasurerPatterson Pump Company
Ansell SimsSecretaryGrundfos

Class of 2025

Ansell SimsPresidentGrundfos
Julian AtchiaVP, R & D*SJE Rhombus
Mike MancuscoVP, Marketing & TechnologyFlowserve Corporation
* Indicates Associate Member

Class of 2026

Dave FlintonVP, Xylem Management System & Operational ExcellenceXylem
Troy PickeringCEOSIMFLO
Albert PouriaCEO*Sun-Star Electric, Inc.
*Indicates Associate Member

Class of 2027

Greg CaseCINOTaco Comfort Solutions
Greg LevineVPFranklin Electric
Dan McGrathSVP, Sales*Nidec Motor Corporation
*Indicates Associate Member

Vice Presidents

(non-voting advisory positions)

Vice President, Technical AffairsJack ClaxtonVP EngineeringPatterson Pump Company
Vice President, Member ServicesMike KetchumVP, Sales & Business DevelopmentIWAKI America Inc.
Vice President, Knowledge & EducationScott TystadEducation LeaderPentair
Vice President, Government & Regulatory AffairsMark ChaffeeVP, Governmental Relations & Product ManagementTaco Comfort Solutions
Vice President, Certification ProgramsTammy MoskalDirector, Product Safety/Compliance & Engineering ServicesXylem

Past Presidents – Ex Officio

Brian SweeneyPresidentCrane Pumps & Systems
DeLancey DavisPresidentFranklin Electric
John KahrenPresidentSPP Pumps, Inc.
John White, Jr.Executive ChairmanTaco Comfort Solutions
John MiersmaNon-Executive ChairmanIWAKI America Inc.

Assistant Secretary/Assistant Treasurer

Michael MichaudExecutive DirectorHydraulic Institute

Legal Counsel

Eric McClafferty, Esq.PartnerKelley Drye & Warren LLP

Interested in Joining HI?